MINUTES of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF STANLEY TOWN COUNCIL Held at Stanley Civic Hall, Front Street, Stanley on Tuesday 16th May 2017 at 6.30pm

| PRESENT: | T Armstrong | D Carmichael | L Christie | J Clark | A Clegg |
|----------|-------------|--------------|-------------|------------|------------|
| | M Davinson | G Graham | C Hampson | C Marshall | D Marshall |
| | J McMahon | B Nair | J Nicholson | J Pallas | LTimbey |
| | D Tully | J Tully | G Wilkinson | | |

OFFICERS: Alan Shaw (Town Clerk) Nicola James (PA to the Town Clerk) James Harper (Community Development Manager)

IN ATTENDANCE: 21 members of the Public

Cllr J Nicholson in the Chair

Cllr J Nicholson, Chairman of the Council for 2016-17 opened the meeting and remarked that it had been a privilege to represent Stanley Town Council as Chairman. She wished the new Chairman a wonderful, productive and exciting year, wished new Councillors luck, and wished the Council well in the ensuing year. She also thanked the staff and said it had been a privilege to work with them all.

ELECTION OF CHAIR OF STANLEY TOWN COUNCIL

It was proposed by CIIr D Marshall and seconded by CIIr A Clegg that CIIr B Nair be nominated as Chairman.

It was proposed by ClIr D Tully and seconded by ClIr G Wilkinson that ClIr A Clegg be nominated as Chairman. ClIr A Clegg declined the nomination.

Following a show of hands, it was **RESOLVED** that Cllr Bala Nair be appointed Chairman for the civic year 2017-18.

2 DECLARATIONS OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

Cllr B Nair duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office before the Town Clerk.

Cllr B Nair in the Chair

3 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR OF STANLEY TOWN COUNCIL

It was proposed by ClIr D Marshall and seconded by ClIr D Carmichael that ClIr G Graham be nominated as Vice-Chairman.

As there were no further nominations, it was **RESOLVED** that Cllr Geoff Graham be appointed Vice-Chairman for the civic year 2017-18.

4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies from Cllrs H Clark & J Stephenson were accepted by Members.

5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None.

6 PROCEDURAL AND APPROPRIATE ANNOUNCEMENT FROM THE CHAIR

The Town Clerk asked that mobile phones be turned off or switched to silent. He advised that the meeting was being recorded and streamed live on Facebook.

No one else was recording the meeting.

The Town Clerk advised members that there was a meeting at the Civic Hall at 2pm on 17th May where a representative from Virgin Media would be updating Members about Virgin Media coming to Stanley.

The Town Clerk reminded Members not to speak until they have been recognised by the chair, and to stand when speaking.

7 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

The Chairman took the following questions from the public:

Billy Nixon - Question to Cllr Carl Marshall - Can you tell me why you stood for STC when you voted against the creation of the Town Council.

Cllr C Marshall responded that he had gathered signatures to bring about a Town Council for Stanley, he has worked with CDALC to deliver training and that he believes Stanley needs leadership in its communities which he can bring through his work at the Council.

Ron Harrison - Question - Why has a survey not been done to ask the public if they want a Town Mayor?

The Town Clerk responded and advised Mr Harrison that the question of whether the Chairman should be styled Town Mayor is a matter for the Council to decide. Councillors are elected by their peers to represent them and their interests. Councillors decide what style they want their Chairman to have.

8 CONFIRMATION OF COUNCIL MINUTES

It was proposed by Cllr A Clegg, seconded by Cllr J Nicholson and **RESOLVED** that the minutes of the Ordinary Council Meeting held on 18th April 2017 be **APPROVED** as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

9 STYLE OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE-CHAIRMAN

Members considered whether the Chairman and Vice Chairman should be styled as Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor respectively. It was proposed by ClIr D Marshall, seconded by ClIr A Clegg, that STC should have a Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor.

Following a vote, it was **RESOLVED** that this was accepted and that Cllr Bala Nair would become the first Town Mayor of Stanley.

The Town Mayor thanked members and stated that he was honoured to be Stanley's first Town Mayor and was looking forward to the coming year.

Cllr Nair nominated SHAID has the Town Mayor's Charity for 2017-18.

10 CONSTITUTION AND OTHER POLICIES

(i) The Constitution

Members discussed changing the Constitution to reflect political groups and leaders of these groups.

It was proposed by ClIr G Graham, seconded by ClIr C Hampson and **RESOLVED** that:

- (a) The constitution be amended to recognise political groups on the Council;
- (b) Political groups would be permitted to appoint a Leader and Deputy Leader;
- (c) Cllr D Marshall would be appointed Leader and Cllr L Timbey Deputy Leader.
- (d) The changes to the Constitution in the draft presented to reflect the new Committee Structure would be accepted.

(ii) Standing Orders

Members discussed the report from the Town Clerk. It was proposed by Cllr D Marshall, seconded by Cllr T Armstrong and **RESOLVED** that the five clear days notice of meeting would be relaxed if the meeting fell after a bank holiday but otherwise the amendments to the Standing Orders made in the last year would be retained.

- (iii) Financial Regulations
- (iv) Complaints Procedure
- (v) Communications Policy
- (vi) Publication Scheme

Members **RESOLVED** that the above documents be approved as there are no amendments.

II ANNUAL ACCOUNTS

Members discussed the Report on Annual Accounts, the Annual Return, Final Budget (out-turn) and Asset Register. It was proposed by ClIr D Marshall, seconded by ClIr A Clegg and **RESOLVED** that the accounts be approved and that the Chairman be authorised to sign the Annual Governance Statement and the Annual Accounting Statement for 2016/17.

12 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES

(i) Projects and Initiatives

It was **RESOLVED** that the Committee be made up of 7 Labour Councillors and 3 Independent Councillors to ensure the balance of the Council overall was reflected on the Committees. The following Councillors were put forward to be Members of the Committee.

J Pallas (Chair) J McMahon (Vice-Chair) C Marshall C Hampson A Clegg L Christie T Armstrong J Clark J Tully G Wilkinson plus Town Mayor & Deputy Town Mayor (ex-officio)

(ii) Finance and Governance

It was **RESOLVED** that the Committee be made up of 7 Labour Councillors and 3 Independent Councillors to ensure the balance of the Council overall was reflected on the Committees. The following Councillors were put forward to be Members of the Committee.

J Stephenson (Chair) M Davinson (Vice-Chair) L Christie D Marshall C Marshall J Pallas L Timbey H Clark J Nicholson D Tully plus Town Mayor & Deputy Town Mayor (ex-officio)

13 APPOINTMENTS TO WORKING GROUPS AND PANELS

It was **RESOLVED** that Members shall be appointed to these groups / panels as and when needed.

14 APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

It was **RESOLVED** that the following members be the representatives for/at the following:

Area Action Partnership CDALC Executive Cllr L Christie Cllr A Clegg Larger Local Councils Forum PACT House Cllrs A Clegg and Cllr D Marshall Cllr T Armstrong

I5 SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

It was proposed by ClIr M Davinson, seconded by ClIr D Marshall and **RESOLVED** that the proposed schedule of meetings for 2017-18 be approved, however the Finance and Governance meeting scheduled for 12 July is to be moved as this clashes with the Michael Heaviside event.

16 SUBSCRIPTIONS TO OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

It was **RESOLVED** that the Council continue with subscriptions to NALC, CDALC and SLCC.

17 DATE, TIME AND VENUE OF NEXT MEETING

Tuesday 27th June 2017, 18:30, Stanley Civic Hall.