Notice of Vacancy June 2020

May 2017 Local Election Results

The full results of the May 2017 local elections showing all the votes cast for each candidate are attached below.

Three Councillors were elected unopposed in the Tanfield ward, all the other 17 seats were contested. The balance of the Council is Labour 14 Councillors, Derwentside Independents 6 Councillors.

Contested seats – Election Results 2017

Uncontested election – Tanfield Ward

May 2017 Local Elections

Elections for all 20 seats of Stanley Town Council and the whole of Durham County Council will be held on 4th May 2017.

Any person who meets the qualifying criteria can stand for election. For more information about what the criteria are and how to stand, check the Electoral Comission’s website

The newly elected Town Council will officially take office at the Town Council’s AGM which will be held on Tuesday 16th May 2017.  At this meeting, the new Council will elect a Chairman decide membership of Committees and review the Council’s governance documents.

Make sure you’re registered to vote in the forthcoming election.

Just visit it takes only a few seconds. You will need your National Insurance number.

Who’s Standing in the Election?

The full lists of candidates contesting elections for the Town and County Councils on May 4th are linked below:

Town Council Candidates

County Council Candidates

May 2013 Election Results

All 20 seats of the Town Council were contested in May 2013. The election results can be found below:

2013 Election Results