Parish Boundary

The Town Council is based on a new geographical boundary established in May 2008. New parish or town council areas can be set up in one of two ways.

The district or borough council can recommend to the government that a new parish or town council area be established, or, the local community can petition for one. The latter being the case in Stanley.

It was agreed that the Town Council would incorporate the seven wards of Annfield Plain, Catchgate, Craghead and South Stanley, Havannah, Stanley Hall, South Moor and Tanfield.

Following local government reorganisation in County Durham these ‘wards’ became co-terminus with the new unitary County Council’s four ‘electoral divisions’ of: Stanley, Craghead and South Moor, Annfield Plain and Tanfield and the area covered by the (Stanley) Area Action Partnership.

The map below shows the boundary of the parish of Stanley which is located in the North West of the County of Durham in the North East of England.

Whilst the parish is centered on the town of Stanley itself it also covers the many surrounding communities of Annfield Plain, Catchgate, Harelaw, Harperley, Greencroft, Ox Hill, New Kyo, East Kyo, West Kyo, Craghead and the Middles, South Moor,  Quaking Houses,  East Stanley,  South Stanley,  Shield Row, Kip Hill, Coppy, Causey, Tanfield, Tanfield Lea, Clough Dene, Tantobie, Sleepy Valley, White-Le-Head and part of Flint Hill.

This amounts to an area of 36.5 square kilometers (approximately 14 square miles). Approximately 31,000 people live within the area which makes it one of the largest local councils in the Country.

Please click on the map for a larger image.


Red – Havannah

Pink – Tanfield

Green – Catchgate

Light Green – South Stanley & Craghead

Light blue – Annfield Plain

Lilac – South Moor

Yellow – Stanley Hall